AIM19 honours Shila Amzah, Mizz Nina, Jaclyn Victor & Alleycats

By Noorsila Abd Majid

Photos by Faiz Ai (Ai Photography)

SHAH ALAM, Nov 17: The Anugerah Industri Muzik (AIM19), Malaysia’s version of the Grammys (on a budget) rolled out smoothly as planned at the Stadium Melawati.

Thanks to celebrity hosts Aznil Hj Nawawi and Adibah Noor. They pumped in  a lot of energy into the lethargic award ceremony with their lively banters and timely comic.

Powerhouse vocalists Shila Amzah and Jaclyn Victor dominated local pop music’s biggest night, taking home the most coveted Best Song and Best Female Vocal Performance awards respectively.

The 22-year-old Shila, whose popularity has skyrocketed ever since she won the Asian Wave 2012 vocal championship in Shanghai, also won the Best Pop Song for “Patah Seribu”.

“Thank you Allah. I am so grateful for these awards ‘coz I’ve never really won anything in my own country,” Shila said. “Thank you to my dad; I won’t be here without him. Thank you to my mum, who is my manager, my stylist and everything else. Thank you to the love of my life – Sharnaaz Ahmad. Thank you to my music idols, who are sitting in front of me and a big thank you to my fans.

“Xie xie ni men de zhi chi (Thank you for your support),” she said her thank yous in perfect Mandarin.

Jac made a big impression on stage too. The Malaysian Idol looked stunned as she accepted the biggest surprise of the night, beating Malaysian pop queen Datuk Siti Nurhaliza in the vocal somersault department with the emotional “Counting Days”.

“I thank you everyone who’s here tonight,” the 32-year-old choked on her words. “I have to thank God for putting me here to sing. To my fellow nominees (Siti, Shila and Nora), where would I be without you guys? Aubrey Suwito – thank you for writing such a beautiful song.”

Beautiful electro-pop princess, Mizz Nina on the other hand, walked away with Anugerah Kembara, a special award given for her international collaboration with the likes of Colby O’Donis and Flo Rida.

But the most beautiful moments at the AIM came in the form of Alleycats. The evergreen Malaysian pop band was honoured with a lifetime achievement award (Anugerah Wirama) for an illustrious career that spanned over 43 years (and counting). In fact, their long-time collaborator, music genius Datuk M. Nasir has fondly described them as “A band of stubborn performers. Alleycats will continue to sing until they can’t sing anymore.”

Which lead vocalist Datuk David Arumugam agreed. “Terima kasey,” he said his trademark thank you in Malay. “Can the AIM producer give me more time to speak? I can’t sum up 43 years of togetherness in just 30 seconds. Terima kasey…who wrote this script by the way?”

Thanking everyone who’s contributed to Alleycats’ success story, David dedicated the award to his late brother and singing partner, Loga Arumugam. “Thank you Loga. You will always be loved by so many people.”



. Best Album – Salam for “Salammusik”
. Best Male Vocal – Jamal Abdillah
. Best Nasyid Song – Nora for “Doa”
. Best Hip-Hop Song – “Aku Maafkan Kamu” by Malique, featuring Jamal Abdillah.
. Best Rock Song – “Idola” by Azlan & The Typewriter
. Best English Song – “Counting Days” by Aubrey Suwito, performed by Jaclyn Victor
. Best Indonesian Song – “Sudah Cukup Sudah” by Nirwana Band